I Did It!

Standard

My first MS 150 is in the books, ya’ll, and I am flying high! Honestly, if you would have told me what a blast I was going to have on this 150 mile ride I would have never believed you. It was just an amazing experience from start to finish.

Image

Crushed it!

First of all, the encouragement and financial support for this ride from family, friends, and even strangers has been incredible. As of today I’ve raised $2675 of my $3500 goal. Donations are being collected through May 13th so you can still click this link to support a wonderful cause.  To those of you who have already offered your support with money, prayers, positive thoughts, or words of encouragement – I cannot thank you enough.

Secondly, being a part of an awesome team was invaluable. Team Mighty Fine has the logistics of getting dozens of riders from Houston to Austin down to an art. No detail was overlooked. I could have cried when I arrived at the campsite in La Grange on the first day after a hot and windy 75 mile ride and saw piles of food, cold beer, and massage tables. They even made brisket. Juicy, delicious BRISKET! Someone obviously knew that the way to my heart is through food. All of the volunteers were so kind and helpful. We didn’t have to do a thing except show up and ride. I got to hang out with some “old” friends and made plenty of new ones along the way.

Lastly, I felt so strong both days of the ride. I thought that I would be sick and tired of being on a bike on the second day, but it wound up being the best part. Even after gorging myself on an absurd amount of meat and sleeping under a tent with about 50 of my new pals, I woke up ready to ride. Well, the 5am wake up call was a bit undesirable but nothing some strong coffee couldn’t fix. The weather could not have been better. I was blessed with overcast skies and the wind on my back most of the way. The hill challenge in Bastrop state park was a roller coaster of fun (honestly!) and cruising into Austin with hundreds of people lined up to cheer is in experience I will never forget.

If you’ve considered participating in the MS 150, but you’ve been afraid that it is too tough, you need not fear. Just join a great team like Team Mighty Fine and get your butt on a bike. This year approximately 15,000 riders of all ages and abilities took part. Many of them were new to riding. Yes, cycling 150+ miles in two days is difficult – but the camaraderie and support along the way will pull you through.

Money donated to the BP MS 150 goes to help people with multiple sclerosis. You can read more here about why this mission is near and dear to my heart. This year’s ride has raised more than $15 million dollars to date. I have listed the names below of my fantastic network of supporters who so generously gave to this cause. You guys are awesome!

Rachel Johnson
Deb Vickery
Carlos Rosas
Belinda Clare
David Lachance
Jacqueline Vickery
Miriam Shaw
Chris O’Quinn
Allan Moses
Emily Groves
Renee Norred
Mary Triplett
Yvonne janicke
William Janicke
Jane Brelsford
Josephine Guier
Jonell Parsons
Donna Soehlig
Marshall Cothran
Phil Hornbeak
David Janicke
Ted Weston
Adam Baker
Holly Tompkins
Joy Denman
Lachlan Brough
Luke Kyohere
Lisa Longo
Nizar Sibai Johnston
Michael Peterson
Mike Taylor
Becky Carter
Carolyn and Brett Magill
Stephanie Triggs

12 thoughts on “I Did It!

  1. Mike Taylor

    I love, love, love the picture of you at the end of the race! Makes me smile everytime I see it. What a great experience what a great job you did raising money for a fantastic cause! You’re an inspiration 🙂

  2. Congratulations! You’re right — all a participant in the MS150 needs to do is show up and ride. My experiences in the 2009 and 2010 rides were much like yours. It’s something I would encourage all cyclists to do.

    • Yes, it was a very unique experience from any other ride I have participated in. I think a lot of people are intimidated by the logistics, but they really need not be. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

