I’m Dreaming of a Bike Christmas

Standard

ImageI’d love to say that I have neglected my blog of late because I’ve been caught in a festive frenzy of present purchasing, cookie baking, and holiday party hopping. But, that is not the case. I’ve spent a total of 30 minutes Christmas shopping (online purchases plus putting checks in the mail for my nephews), zero minutes making treats, and I left town during all of my holiday parties. BAH HUMBUG!

Truthfully, I’m going on a fantastic trip to Costa Rica with my family after Christmas and so we decided not to do any presents. I took the liberty of extending that policy to nearly everyone else in my life and it has been quite nice. Now I am the first person to tell you I find the buying mania surrounding Christmas nauseating. That is, until it comes to buying for myself. Well a lady has to treat herself, right? So every year I purchase something nice that maybe I have been thinking about all year. Now I happen to have a rather important milestone birthday coming up just a couple of weeks after Christmas so this year I decided to go all out.

I’ve had my eye for several months on a carbon frame that is quite significantly marked down. I can’t even show you a picture in case all of you decide it is the sexiest sale-price carbon frame you’ve ever seen and snap up the 5 remaining size 47cm before I get a chance to make my purchase. I would be devastated. I’ve already named my bike-to-be.

I suppose that is the way it goes. I untangled myself from all of the trappings of yuletide consumerism only to be ensnared by carbon frame obsession. Stay tuned – I’m going to pull the trigger any day now and make my carbon dream a reality. In the meantime, I’m going to return to my online stalking…I mean shopping. Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

