Being a Very Serious Athlete

Standard

bike

I got a lot of comments on the photo above when I posted it to my Facebook and changed my WordPress avatar. It was actually taken at the Pflugerville Triathlon last summer. I never buy race photos because I either don’t find them to be flattering or don’t want to shell out the cash for them. But, I really like this one of me. I look like a pretty serious athlete. Then there’s this one –

couples tri

That’s me and my friend skipping across the finish line at the Couples Tri back in July of this year. We had decided to “just have fun” and do the whole race together. What you can’t tell from the photo is how much I felt like vomiting. We broke into a skip way too early and I thought we’d never make it to the end.

These photos got me thinking about finding the balance in trying to be a more serious athlete and in just getting out there to have some fun. The two don’t have to be mutually exclusive, but it can certainly feel like it when you’re trying to push yourself. Now that I’m trying to become a faster cyclist I’m trying to hang with some groups that keep a bit of a faster pace than my normal rides. There’s nothing like getting dropped on a no-drop ride to keep you humble.

A friend of mine suggested that I look at it as a training ride, so I shouldn’t expect to have a good time. Then, I can go out and ride for fun another day.ย  That’s where I am right now – trying to find the balance between working harder and having a good time. So while you might see me out on the roadย with my serious face on at the back of the pack just know that on that bike is also a girl who likes to ride around in a coconut bra ๐Ÿ™‚

photo(15)

7 thoughts on “Being a Very Serious Athlete

  1. I feel your pain and I finally figured it out…I think. I ride hard and train the first six months of the season and chill for the last month before getting into winter prep for spring. I’ve been super happy with this so far.

      • I was going more toward the conundrum that you described though… You mentioned having to figure out whether to keep trying to push to improve or back off. My comment was an attempt to relate to your situation and to let you know what I’m trying, being in the same boat. Good luck! I like the new gravatar too by the way. You look like a tough girl. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

