Running Highs, Temperature Lows

Standard

This time last year I was hobbling around with a new fashion accessory fastened to my leg – a knee brace. What a difference 12 months can make. I ran the Dallas Rock n’ Roll half marathon last weekend. It was my longest run since injuring my ACL. Here are my highs and lows from the race:

High: Yay! I love running again!

Low: Whoops, I ran out of time and only trained to 9.5mi. Oh and I started tapering 2 weeks too early.

High: I get to spend the weekend with great friends in Dallas and run the race with my buddies.

Low: It is possible we had a little too much fun hanging out two nights before the race and I may have slightly dehydrated myself (I think this is still partially positive as I had a very nice time catching up.)

High: A springtime race means training during the best Texas running weather.

Low: Punxsutawney Phil is a fraud! Can you believe the charges against him were dropped today? A cold snap 48 hours before the race brought a 20 degree temperature drop and frigid wind gusts of up to 45 miles an hour. (For non-Texans, the word “cold” in Texas is used to describe temperatures under 50 degrees.)

High: I seemed to keep a good steady pace throughout the race and stay within my ideal goal of a sub 10 minute mile average.

Low: Turns out that free app ain’t that accurate. I was actually about a minute slower than it told me I was. However, the inaccuracy was an excellent confidence boost. I really need to work on reading the instructions to my fancy new watch.

High: I’m still really proud of myself. I finished in 2:18:38. My legs felt like logs for the last two miles of the race and I am paying for my lack of training. But, I went back to yoga today and I’m starting to loosen up a little.

Low: No more lows! I believe in always ending on a high note đŸ™‚

By the way, does anyone have any advice on the effects of taking an ice bath a few days after the event? I was too much of a wuss directly post-race after suffering through the bitter cold all day.

UPDATE: I think the ice bath method really works. I tried it last night and feel a huge improvement today. Plus, it wasn’t completely horrible.

5 thoughts on “Running Highs, Temperature Lows

  1. Megan, I can tell you, without a doubt, cold works and it doesn’t have to be ice. A dip in a cold lake, just a few minutes, will do wonders… Though a nice easy bike ride is just as good imao.

Leave a Reply

