Farewell Sweet Friend

Standard

bikeI spent the Christmas holiday on the Texas coast with my parents and brother as I have for the last couple of years. The beach at Port Aransas is one of the few beaches you can drive on. The compacted sand is also perfect for bicycling on. Unfortunately, my old beach cruiser  fell victim to rust last winter as I was not very careful about keeping it indoors while I was staying at the beach condo.  This year a friend was nice enough to give me a bike she had sitting in her garage. The bike  is very good condition and made for smooth beach riding. This presented a problem. I wanted to keep it. I have promised my roommate that I won’t bring home any more bikes. You see, my three bikes plus her two bikes plus our two dogs really takes up a lot of our 1,000 square feet living space. Not to mention all the clothes and shoes! So, I knew I needed to say goodbye to a dear friend.

ziggyI have held on to Ziggy, my first road bike, even though I don’t have much practical use for her anymore. I justify storing her in our patio storage by saying that I want to ride her to festivals and other places where I would be worried about my nicer road bike being stolen. Really I am just being sentimental. But, I didn’t feel like dealing with the hassle of Craigslist to make a hundred bucks and I couldn’t bear the thought of just abandoning her at Goodwill to god knows what kind of fate.

So, I posted a picture on a local ladies cycling group Facebook page with the explanation that I wanted to give the bike to any gal who was in need.  I said that I am 5’2″ and the bike fits me perfectly. A girl quickly contacted me and said she was very interested. She said she had just moved to Austin and had to leave her bike behind.  She also told me she was having trouble finding one on Craigslist because she is 5’1″. I’ve been there.  Turns out, parting ways with Ziggy wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. She’ll have a much better life back on the road instead of hanging in a dark closest. Plus, I might get to see her out on the weekly ladies ride. Yep, I’m a bit too sentimental.

7 thoughts on “Farewell Sweet Friend

  1. So sorry for your loss. However, if it makes you feel better, at least you know that it died peacefully — it wasn’t stolen by some street gang and ten sold for parts. By the way, you might want to check out some sort of “support group” if you need further help. 🙂

  2. In the end, it seems that Ziggy is going to be in good hands. I have to say, I felt strangely emotionally invested in Ziggy’s outcome, and gladly, after only a paragraph of distress, I felt refreshed knowing she is going to someone in need who will be appreciative.

    And of course, now you can keep riding on the beach which is pretty great.

Leave a Reply

