Turkey Day Traditions

Standard

Since my family lives more than 12 hours away and up until this year I have typically worked on Thanksgiving day I had to make some new holiday traditions for myself in Texas. My favorite is Austin’s annual Thundercloud Turkey Trot.

First of all, it is for a great cause. One hundred percent of the entry fee and donations go to feed the hungry in Austin through the local non-profit Caritas. And while most large cities have a Turkey Trot tradition I doubt any are as entertaining as the 5 miler through downtown Austin. I can’t say I ran very hard on this run. But, I enjoyed a beautiful 70 degree Thanksgiving day with about 200,000 friends…many of who donned some pretty fantastic costumes. I hope everyone enjoyed their Thanksgiving traditions!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

