Follow up to vacation high….

Standard

The tri season has ended. My travels are over for now. So what’s next? Training, training, and trying to get motivated about training.

I’ve signed up for a few things. First up, I registered for the Run for the Water 10 mile run. This is an event for a wonderful cause. It benefits the Gazelle Foundation which provides Burundians with access to clean drinking water. I’ve been wanting to do this race for a while. Unfortunately, I didn’t take into account how much I would need to amp up my running in order to be able to do a 10 miler. I was at 5 miles pre-trip. Of course, when I returned I wasn’t able to jump right back into things. I’ve been adding a couple miles each week. On Tuesday, I ran 8 miles. It wasn’t terrible, but man it sure wasn’t easy. I averaged about a 9:55 mile. I didn’t suffer any knee pain, but my body sure has hurt this week. I am worried that pushing it to 10 miles on Sunday is trying to do too much too fast. I really don’t want to suffer the set back of hurting my knee again. Soooo, I may not actually do the race. I’m still deciding. Either way, my money is still supporting a fantastic cause so I don’t feel guilty about that 🙂

Next weekend I am doing a 65 mile bike ride in the Tour de Gruene. I haven’t done this ride before, but I have heard good things. I know that it will be hilly. I haven’t biked 65 miles since May and I haven’t done very many long rides lately so this should be interesting. I am hoping to get in a 40 mile ride this weekend to prepare.

I also signed up for a stroke clinic at the YMCA. It is twice a week for a month. I am still hoping to improve my swim times. Sadly, I have not swam since my last triathlon in September. Wow, time has really flown by.

Further in the future, I am doing some fun runs with friends. There’s the 5 mile Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving, the Color me Rad 5k on December 8, and the Zombie Run 5k December 15. As far as more “serious” training is concerned, I would like to do the Austin half marathon in February and the HITS half iron in April. Whew….a Half-Ironman! What am I thinking?! Guess I really better get to training 🙂

6 thoughts on “Follow up to vacation high….

Leave a Reply

