Sweet Reward

Standard

Have you ever sacrificed something in order to earn a “reward” only to find out the sacrifice was actually a reward in itself? I thought about this as I biked to work the other day. One year ago I decided to make the sacrifice of going without a car in order to save money for my reward- a trip to Central Europe.

At the time I thought to myself, “I can do anything for a year.” I figured I would tough it out and remind myself the whole way about what a fantastic trip was going to take. But, that didn’t happen.

Instead my new “inconvenient” lifestyle became a reward in itself. I love my city even more on two wheels. I feel like a tourist everyday. I stop to take pictures of the skyline and sights along my path. I listen to all the live music streaming out of the bars when I ride downtown at night. I’ve explored new neighborhoods and made new friends along the way. I’m more relaxed, I feel healthier, and (unlike being a tourist) I have saved a ton of money.

I depart next week on my Europe adventure. My plan is to explore Prague, Vienna, and Munich- mainly on two wheels. I’ll take lots of pictures to share my journey with you! In the meantime, consider being a tourist in your own city. Going with out a car certainly won’t work for everyone (or most people), but I bet if you are willing to sacrifice a little convenience you could spend a little less time getting around on four wheels. Trust me, it’s worth it 🙂

3 thoughts on “Sweet Reward

  1. I traveled to Germany & Prague a little over a year ago and I loved it!!!! Prague is my new favorite city. There are so many things to do and see and our hotel was literally less than a block from the Astronomical Clock. I spent so much time looking up because the architecture is so amazing and somehow discovered new details in things no matter how many times we walked by. Can’t wait for updates – take pictures!!!

  2. Oh this is AWESOME! 🙂 What a great entry. So, you must not live in Michigan, eh? Austin you really can ride all year long–although it gets mighty HOT in the summer! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

