Tired of Getting Geezered

Standard

Ever heard the expression “getting chicked?” It’s the phrase used when a woman beats a man in a sporting event. Well here’s another one for you, “getting geezered.” You’ve probably already guessed that’s the term for getting shown up by an elderly person. And I’m SICK of it!

Now I don’t want to sound ageist. Quite the contrary. It is because of the relentless prodding encouragement from a 77 year old triathlete with about 400 triathlons under his belt that I have stuck to my training and survived improved. But, there was a moment during my most recent tri when I decided I just can’t take gettin’ geezered anymore.

See, the wave right after mine was men 50 and up, signified by their yellow caps. I was about halfway through the swim when several of those yellow capped old farts gentlemen swam right over top of me. Of course, they probably began doing triathlons about the time I was born. Still, enough is enough!

While I know I can continue to push myself in my cycling and running and get stronger and faster, I just haven’t been able to pick up the pace much in my swimming. So, I’ve signed up for a month-long Masters swim class through the local YMCA. I’m actually pretty nervous about the classes. The thought of swimming amongst others who consider themselves “Master Swimmers” is terrifying. But, if there’s one thing that’s fueling my fire it is that I just can’t take getting my butt kicked by grandpa anymore! So, here it goes. Stand by for anxiety attack.

Image

My roommate, me, and a couple of our favorite geezer triathletes at Wool Capital Tri in Aug. 2011

8 thoughts on “Tired of Getting Geezered

  1. According to your scale I am officially a “geezer” (at the ripe old age of 53). I will cycle over 7,000 miles this year and one of my greatest joys in life is passing someone half my age like they were sitting still. 🙂

    • Ha Ha. I don’t really think you are a “geezer.” And just so you know I worked my butt off to try to beat to “seasoned” cyclists during my 40 miles today, but they sure weren’t going to let me win. Good thing I don’t mind the taste of humble pie 🙂

      • In about 30 years some young man will jump in front of you to open a door and say, “Let me get that for you ma’am.” You will definitely feel the pain (just ask my wife — when it happened to her she wanted to deck the guy).

  2. First of all – thanks for one of the best laughs I’ve had in ages!!!! (although, for the record – I can top that… at my first 5k I was passed by a woman with a little weiner-dog on a leash… Yep… I was weinered…) Second – I’m also in Austin! Good luck with your events, and thanks for the light-hearted and VERY well-written description of your adventures!

  3. I enjoyed your post and wanted to let you know I’ve just started a blog that focuses on helping triathletes become better swimmers. If you have any questions you’d like to ask us, we’d be glad to help with your swimming. I’m from AK, but currently an hour from Austin. Small world. Check us out at waterbloggedtriathlete.com

Leave a Reply

