First Tri of the Season

Standard

I did it! I finished my first tri of 2012. It was the Pflugerville Triathlon on Sunday. The sprint distance was a 500 meter swim, 14 mile bike, and 3 mile run. Some highlights from Sunday’s event:

1.      I felt competitive in the water and on my bike. Whoo Hoo! This is a big difference from last season when I started the swim in the back to avoid getting plowed over by faster swimmers. This time I struggled to get around slower swimmers in front of me. Now I know to start more in the middle of the pack.  My bike race was also drastically changed from my previous competitions. Yesterday I actually flew past quite a few people in the beginning. Then I gradually overtook several others during the 14 mile course including a few people in my age group.

 

2.       My knee didn’t hurt! The run course was a three mile loop on a hike and bike trail around the lake. It was flat and easy going. I could tell I am not nearly as strong of a runner as I was before the knee injury. But considering that this past Thursday marked the first 3 mile run I had completed since January, I felt pretty good that I didn’t have to walk. I took it slow for about the first 2.5 miles then sped up at the end to pass a couple people before the finish line.

 

3.      I had fun! Most importantly, I had a really good time yesterday. A friend of mine competed as a first time triathlete. I also got to catch up with a couple of training friends who I haven’t gotten to see because of the new job schedule. It was a small event and everyone was really nice and encouraging. One great story I witnessed was as a man approached the finish line the announcer told him over the loudspeaker that he was going to be a grandfather for the second time. It was really fun to see the man’s smile get really big as he crossed the finish line. I haven’t seen my results for the race yet. But, it doesn’t really matter to me. I had a great, pain-free race and I’m ready to take on the next one. Marble Falls Triathlon, here I come!

Leave a Reply

