Running Marathons: Risky or Safe?

Standard

Is running a marathon too risky? I have several friends who get really worried when I tell them I’m training for another endurance event.

Sure, we all read the headlines about the runners who die during marathons. Some of those deaths are preventable. One of my co-workers, Telemundo news anchor and marathoner Karla Leal, looked into the risks associated with running marathons and the common mistakes runners make that could lead to injury or even death.

Click here to check out the story

What do you think? Are marathoners taking too big of a risk?

Update: A friend sent this blog my way. It details a report published in The New England Journal of Medicine on the risks of long distance running. I think the stats help put into perspective the likelihood of a runner dying during a marathon.

4 thoughts on “Running Marathons: Risky or Safe?

    • I agree. I started running competitively when I was about 13, so I never considered getting trained in technique. But now that I’m running longer distances (and getting older) I think proper training would be very beneficial.

  1. My longest run has only been a 10k (and I’m doing another next month), but my boyfriend is running the NYC half marathon in about a month. Maybe I will make him read about these risks. He IS a novice and sometimes his practices (and overconfidence) make me nervous!

    • I don’t think there’s ever any harm in taking an informed approach to your training. I know that when I started running longer distances I found I had a lot to learn about proper hydration (especially because I live in Texas) and the correct way to stretch to avoid injury.

Leave a Reply

